top of page

Novel and Novella Competitions

Illustration of flying books

This page was last updated in August 2023

Booktrust. Prizes and awards that cover a wide range of genres and themes for both children and adults.

Crime Writers’ Association ‘Debut Dagger’ Competition. An international competition for a debut crime novel. Submit the opening of a crime novel (not exceeding 3,000 words) and a synopsis of upto 1,500 words.

Peggy Chapman-Andrews First Novel Award. Initially 5,000 to 8,000 words plus a 300 word synopsis. If long listed you submit a total of 15,000 words, including your original word count. If shortlisted, submit a total 30,000 words. Cash prizes and mentoring.

Lucy Cavendish College Fiction Prize. Award for unpublished female authors.

Cinnamon Press. Cash prizes for poems, flash fiction, short stories, novels and novellas. Entry fees.

Exeter Writers. International novel and short story contests. Cash prizes, with extra awards for writers living in Devon.

Flash 500. International competitions in flash fiction (quarterly), humorous verse (quarterly) and novel first chapter and synopsis (annual). Cash prizes and publication (for short story and verse). Entry fees.

Malahat Review. International short fiction, novella, and long poem competitions. Cash prize and publication.

The Somerset Maugham Awards. Awards given for a published work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry. Applicants must be ordinarily resident in the UK and under the age of 35.

McKitterick Prize. Given annually to an author over the age of 40 for a first novel, published or unpublished.

Mslexia Magazine. International women’s short story, flash fiction, novel and poetry competitions. Cash prize and publication.

North Street Book Prize. Awards for self-published or hybrid-published books.

The Paul Cave Prize for Literature. Various award including a £100 prize  for a novella up to 10,000 words.

Rubery Book Awards. International annual competitions for self-published novels (including ebooks) and short stories. Cash prizes, publication of short story, and more.

The Sunday Times Charlotte Aitken Young Writer of the Year Award. £10,000 awarded for a full-length published or self-published (in book or ebook formats) work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry, by a British or Irish author aged 18-35 years.

The Betty Trask Prize and The Betty Trask Awards. Prizes for first novels written by authors under the age of 35 in a traditional or romantic style.

Wells Festival of Literature. Annual international competitions for poetry and short stories. Cash prizes and more.

Women’s Prize for Fiction. A novel competition open to women writers. There’s also ‘First Chapter’ competition.

Writers Online. A wide range of short story and poetry competitions. Some contests are open only to subscribers. Cash prizes and publication.

The Yeovil Literary Prize. Annual international competitions for novels (first chapters and synopsis), short stories and poetry. Additional awards for authors in Somerset or Devon. Cash prizes.

The Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction. Cash prizes for historical fiction novels with an addition competition for young writers between 11 and 19.

Back to the Competitions page.

bottom of page